top of page
TRUE believers
New Black Swing
Track List: 
 1.  Games
 2.  Passion Paradise
 3.  Satisfied
 4.  I'll Wait For You
 5.  Wild
 6.  What We Gonna Do
 7.  Watching You
 8.  Glitches
 9.  Worthy 
New Black Swing is radio ready and all tracks are FCC Clean. 

“Simon Nicol points a probing, cynical finger at our motivations, wants, and needs on his solo project Leava’s latest release, The Lovely Grind, out March 18th and featuring the lead song “Caffeine & Fashion.”


“Leava’s music is serious. Simon Nicol’s most recent work under the Leava moniker is dark yet makes liberal use of lush soundscapes both typical and electronic. His voice quavers with uncertainty; when Nicol dug into his upper register you could feel it, but those upper notes came easily anyway, fragile as they were. The music was quite stripped down as it featured just that voice and electric guitar. But it was beautiful.  “Brunt” is a lovely EP that deserves repeated listens, especially during these dark, wintry months.”


“LEAVA is another one-man outfit based in Everett, written, recorded and produced by Snohomish County resident Simon Nicol. "Crutch" is a spooky, echo-y track with some great production elements from LEAVA.”

107.7 THE END

True Believers is the soundtrack to carefully woven dreams: timeless elegance that invites the listener to drift effortlessly on cloud of ambient guitars, voluminous synths and rapturous vocals —electronic chamber music that recalls early Grizzly Bear and the more ghostly offerings of James Blake. 

Trick Candles bring their infectious pop hooks to their zenith on their self-titled EP. Unapologetically nostalgic with ample booty-shaking grooves, their blend of synth pop and rock’n’roll would fit right in an 80’s collection of greatest hits. Their work will please fans of Wolf Parade and Handsome Furs. Catchy, danceable, and always fun, Trick Candles bring the party to wherever they are 

Sassy has gained praise from The Fader, NYLON, Pitchfork, Noisey, Saint Heron, SPIN and many others.  She successfully released her sophomore album New Black Swing in June of 2017 followed by tours across North America and Europe.  She's set to release new music in 2018.  

True Believers was written, produced and engineered by Simon Nicol at Mysterious Red X. 

bottom of page